Tunes from the recent Mirboo North Acoustic session

Hi folks,

Here is a list of most of the tunes we played on Saturday the 7th of Feb. Jules bought along Ross (acoustic guitars, 6 and 12 string) who has some nice licks under his belt. Reckon I might take up the offer for a play with the 12 string next session.

I’ll have a banjo by then having hit eBay last night but might need some time on it before adding it to the options.

Anyway, here are the tunes with links to the scores and the performances where I have them. Just click the title. Haven’t tested the chords yet so let me know if I have any in a different key.

Note to those thinking about coming down for a jam. You are more than welcome to sit in and play if you want to. We don’t score how brilliant or new you might be. We just have fun. If you can sing or play an acoustic instrument come along and give it a crack. I’d never played with others before finding the group and it’s a real buzz to share the tunes.

Wish you were here by Pink Floyd
She’s always a woman by Billy Joel
Green sleeves
Wagon wheel this version by Old Crow Medicine show. (I’d like to get the banjo up to speed for this one.)
Iris by Goo Goo Dolls Hope we see the double bass next time we play this.
Knocking on heavens door this version by Eric Clapton
Chasing cars by Snow Patrol This is a beautiful number that is a vocal challenge as far as timing goes but well worth the effort
Sunny afternoon by the Kinks
Fire and rain by James Taylor
Under the boardwalk by the Drifters
Make me a pallet on your floor this version by Gillian Welch
Vincent by Don Maclean
Something by Lionel Richie. Can’t remember which one so here’s Stuck on You.
One day I’ll fly away. Another I can’t recall so here is Alison Krauss with I’ll fly away. We haven’t played this one yet but it could get a run.
Where are you now this version by Clint Black. I don’t remember this one but it’s in my notes so it may have come from Steve.

Leave a Reply

