Wagon Wheel

(original capo 2 key A)

 

Intro: G   D   Em   C   G   D   C   C x 2 (same chords throughout)

G                 D
I’m headed down south to the land of the pines,

Em             C
I’m thumbin’ my way into North Car-o-line

G             D
Star-in’ up the road n-pray-to-God I see

C
head lights.

G                 D
Ah made down the co-ast in sev-en-teen hours

Em             C
pickin’ me a bouquet of dogwood flowers and I’m

G                 D         C
a hopin’ for Raleigh ah can see my, baby toni-ght

 

Chorus:

    G             D
So Rock me mamma like a wagon whe-el

Em     C         G         D         C
Rock me mamma any way-ee you fe-el, hey-ee mamma rock me

G                 D
Rock me mamma like the wind and the rain

Em             C     G     D         C
rock me mamma like a south bound train, hey-ee mamma rock me.

 

(fiddle solo)

 

2nd verse:

Runnin’ from the co-ld up in New England I was born to be a fiddler in
an old time string band my baby plays the guitar, ah pick a banjo now.
O-oh the north country winters keep gettin’ me n I lost my money playin’
poker so I had to up an’ leave but ah ain’t a turnin’ back, t’ live that
old life no more.

Chorus:

3rd verse:     (begins with single chord on first beat of bar)

Walkin’ due sou-th, out of Ro-an-oak I caught a trucker out of Philly
had a nice long toke.
But he’s a headed west from the Cumberland gap, to John-son City Tenn-es-see.

(All join in)

An I gotta get a move on before the sun I hear my baby callin’ my name
and I know that she’s the only one and if I die in Raleigh, at least I will die fre-ee.

Leave a Reply

