The Hunger Games–revisited

Just over a week ago I went to see The Hunger Games and then posted a review. It wasn’t especially generous to the flick and I promised myself to check out the novel it is based on to see if it was close to the original.

Since then I have checked out a few glowing reviews but having read the book now, I’m even less impressed by the screenplay.

The Novel is a darker adventure than the movie and to it’s cost in my opinion. The political background which is far more important to the story, has taken a back seat to the futuristic fashions which, though faithfully captured, are of no importance to the story.

Especially irksome is the skipping over of the fact that the attack at the end is undertaken by creatures that have some connection with the earlier combatants. A very serious part of the story. If It’s mentioned in the movie I missed it and this is a horror element that really darkens the tale.

I’ll be moving on to the next book version now. No point in waiting for the movie version first when it gets seriously softened by the screenplay writers.

Recommendation: If you have the time tuck into the book or an audio version of the book. Maybe download the flick just out of interests sake, but don’t rate the writer against the movie version.

6 thoughts on “The Hunger Games–revisited

  1. I really need to reread the entire series. I enjoyed the movie, but it had been so long since I read the books I couldn’t put my finger on what was missing. But, I did tell my husband and son that there wasn’t nearly enough emphasis in the movie on the horror of The Capitol. One mention by Gale (or was it Katniss) when they were out in the woods of getting caught and getting your tongue cut out….fleeting, I’m sure no one who hadn’t read the books would have caught it.
    And the politics. The next two books are SO much more important to the story than the actual Games themselves.
    Yes, by all means….always read the books before and after seeing a movie…..books win every time!

  2. Crap…I meant (in my very first sentence) read the entire series AGAIN.

  3. I just love reading books and I guess I would be disappointed that the movie would not come close to the images created by my own imagination…..maybe I should watch more movies to find out for sure. I’m hangin’ out for the pension in a couple of years…maybe then I’ll have the opportunity to go to cinemas with all the other old farts.

    1. Really suffered that with the Dune movie GOF. Even though they spent millions on it there was no it could match the imagination. It also didn’t help that they tried to cover more than one novel in the movie.

  4. I am always disappointed by movies versus books. Words do magic things to the brain that special effects cannot emulate.

    1. Lord of the rings worked for me but it is a standout.

      I had the misfortune of going to see the adaptation of Christopher Paolini’s Eragon. Very seriously disfigured and I have sworn off going to the next in the series. You might as well give it a different title if you can’t keep the important story elements together.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close