The extraordinary case of the missing kilos

For those unaware of the home life of myself and my trophy wife Liz (this is used in the positive sense I hasten to add) we are currently enjoying Liz’s new found fitness after her having a knee replacement 18 months ago. The change has been dramatic and life changing. TV viewing has dropped away and walking everywhere (much easier to do in Horsham than in Geelong) is having a big impact on fitness levels and weight being carried.

It also gives you a feeling of well being that must come from whatever gets released into your body when you exercise hard.

Being a less than trophy husband but keen to be assisting in the new fitness regime, I have been a surprise beneficiary by going along for the walks. When showering the other day I found some strange indentations in my shoulders which Liz tells me are muscles. I should add here that they don’t look anything like something on an appetiser plate but she knows her stuff so I’m taking her word for it.

One of the things that got added to the Bucket List when Liz’s knee went pear shaped was a return to the Grampians to do the Pinnacle Walk. A tough but rewarding climb that needs a good level of fitness to complete. I’m pleased to say this has been ticked off the list due to some hard work on her behalf and the loss of about 18 kilos after getting mobile again.

There is another item on that bucket list which is yet to be achieved. That is for Liz to reach my weight. In an act of total bastardry (though unintentional) my weight has been dropping as well so I have effectively moved the goal posts as it were.

But it is going to take more than that to break Mrs McGillicuddy’s spirit. She is still narrowing the gap and I think it will be closed in 2 or 3 weeks.

On the right is a photo of the real Mrs McGillicuddy not Liz I hasten to add.

And why the headline of the extraordinary missing kilos?

 

This last week we have been on holiday in Melbourne on Sunday night, Mirboo North on Monday night and then 2 nights in beautiful Lakes Entrance. Of course this was accompanied by much feasting and drinking of a free bottle of a cheeky little Cardonay Chardonnay (for you Kath and Kim fans).

The deal was enjoy the trip and forget the self control but on our return the scales refused to move higher. Indeed they were even a little lower. Personally, I’m blaming the stairs at each Hotel (which we used in preference to the elevators), the beach walk which included about 2 k in soft sand, and the inability to select higher kilojoule items off the menu.

It seems the better choices are ingrained.

4 thoughts on “The extraordinary case of the missing kilos

  1. Fantastic! How wonderful to get that knee replaced and be able to walk again. And the missing kilos? Good bye and good riddance!

    Ken and I refuse elevators and walk whenever possible when we are on trips. It certainly takes away any guilt for devouring every delicious food in sight and having a bottle of wine with dinner!

    I had surgery to replace my big toe joint on my right foot. It had frozen with arthritis from an injury that I can’t even remember. But, the pain of that one toe joint made it impossible to walk. So, I know that relief and can only imagine how painful a knee could be. (That will be coming up. I inherited my dad’s dodgy knees!)

    1. That big toe sounds like a real hassle Lauri. Anything that limits walking takes away the cheapest fitness option.

      Good luck with the knee. Post Op Liz had no muscle power in it at all. It was as if she hadn’t used it or years. It does give you a new appreciation of mobility when you get it back.

  2. Well done Liz for recovering so well and becoming fully mobile again….and I’m sure your encouragement also helped Peter. I’ve only ever been to the Grampians once and remember it as being spectacularly beautiful.

    1. Interestingly, we went through Bright last week and a woman in the Tourist Center said she often comes over to the Gramps. Apparently our walking trails are legendary.

      By the way some are now closed and never expected to reopen due to the damage caused first by the bush fires but then followed up by flooding. It’s the worst erosion I have ever seen there because the vegetation had not recovered before the downpour.

      Even the road over the top to Horsham was closed for months.

Leave a Reply

